Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

There has been much debate about whether city life is harder or easier. While it is argued that it is more difficult to live there, I think there are more comforts of urban life. City dwellers may be confronted with various problems. The first matter can be the higher cost of living than that in villages or other smaller towns because urban citizens might have to pay higher prices for transport service or household bills. Secondly, high population density in urban areas may cause overcrowding, followed by a lack of open spaces for green trees or other recreational activities for metropolitan residents. Finally, together with thousands of tons of daily emissions discharged from families or offices, a huge quantity of fumes are released from motor street vehicles or metropolitan factories, leading to air and water pollution. In other words, there may be a deterioration in the quality of air and water; consequently, health conditions are likely to be threatened. However, in my view, city life is becoming easier in several cases. Well-known universities, schools at the international level, or other high-quality educational centers located in metropolitan zones generate advantages for city inhabitants to enjoy better educational opportunities to increase their knowledge level. Another factor to make urban life easier is that thanks to the governmental financial investment in improvements in public transport systems like bus or underground services in cities, urban residents’ travel can be facilitated. Furthermore, metropolitan citizens may enhance their spiritual life or enjoy relaxing moments by going to the cinema and theater or spending time in art galleries as well as museums. In conclusion, although there are numerous difficulties of residing in metropolitan areas, from my point of view, it is increasingly easier to spend life in big urban areas on the basis of my above-mentioned analyses and explanation.