Analysis of Yuh-jung Youn’s character in Minari

The South Korean actress, Yuh-jung Youn was awarded the Academy Award 2021 for best-supporting actress for her performance in the critically acclaimed film “Minari”. The 73 years old actress who has been called the Meryl Streep of South Korea is the first Korean actor to win the Academy Award. The film “Minari” is a classic immigrant story, filled with specific details and depicts a metaphorical connection with nature. The Yi family moves to Arkansas abandoning their well-off Californian life to follow the great old American dream. Youn's character; grandmother Soon-ja is like a fresh breath of Korean culture in the American life of the Yi family. The word grandma paints the picture of an old, loving, caring person in the mind's eye. Youn's character, grandma Soon-ja is no exception from that image. Grandma Soon-ja is typical yet unconventional in a unique way. She is loving and caring; concerned about her daughter and grandchildren. Even though she doesn't speak English, she doesn't hesitate to come to the United States to help her daughter who is having a tough time adjusting to the rural life of Arkansas. Her coming to the United States with a handful of Korean goods reminds us of the traditional disposition of grandmothers. She brings seeds of a versatile Korean vegetable- Minari which has a great metaphorical significance in the movie. Minari-typically grows in the second season of planting and can thrive even in dried soil-is used as an analogy for immigrant experience and it symbolizes the Yi’s story. David, the grandson takes an instant dislike to her grandmother, saying things like “She smells like Korea” and “She’s not even a real grandma”. Soon-ja, though full of love and care for little David, is considered “not a real grandma” because she does not bake cookies, she swears and steals from the church hat. But as time goes by, this sly and foul-mouthed grandma and her precocious grandson bond over nature: planting Minari seeds near the stream, Mountain Dew, humor and heartbreak. The loving and caring sight of Soon-ja’s character is manifested in many ways during the film: her compassionate approach towards her daughter, taking care of her grandchildren in a funny and playful way, advocating for her grandson even when he tried to trick her into drinking pee, embracing and comforting little David, who suffers from heart murmur by saying “Grandma won’t let you die”. The lovely, humorous, endearing character of grandma Soon-ja is full of emotion and Yuh-jung’s outstanding portrayal of the character connects the audience deeply into the movie. Apart from the Academy award, Yuh-jung Youn has collected over 30 awards for best-supporting actress for her role in Minari. Minari is a semi-autobiographical movie directed by Lee Isaac Chung. Yuh-jung Youn admits that she chose Minari because of the authentic and heart touching story even though she’s does not relate to her character at all. Yuh-jung views her character as someone who has an intuitive understanding of nature. In an interview, she said that she had her great grandmother in mind while portraying the character. Parasite Director Bong Joon-ho said Soon-ja is the most lovely and unforgettable character among all roles Youn has acted for the past 50 years.