An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Schools are going digital! Schools have realized that printing books, and using so many printed materials are very costly and not environmentally friendly, so they decided to go digital. A lot of people are against it, claiming that it affects eyesight, children become lazy, students get distracted, and many more. Research shows that kids start to see no point in studying when everything is digital, and yes indeed they get distracted with the games and youtube. Researchers also say that students become lazy and they start to experience medical issues, for example, headache, backache, sore eyes, and many others. The school also has a disadvantage to going digital, the cost of buying each tablet and computers is a lot. Buying the hardware is no the only cost, the school has to build in proper sockets for charging which will increase their electricity bills. Also when students are digitized they will lose their handwriting. The art of writing on paper with a pencil will be lost which is actually considered as a skill and talent. Writing on screens can never give the right experience as writing on paper. But at the same time, there are many advantages, like trees will be protected. Our environment is suffering a lot, and each year billions of trees get cut down for paper, so it is better to be digitized. The future is all about technology, so students and the youth generation can already get accustomed to these computers and learn about the digital world sooner. furthermore, there will be no discrimination, as students need to get notebooks, pencil cases, and bags, some parents can't afford that, so some kids get bullied for their cheap items. When schools provide the tablets no one gets bullied as everyone is now being viewed as equal. In conclusion, having students rely on screens can have both advantage and disadvantages, statistically and realistically speaking the disadvantages are more. But in the eyes of children and parents, everyone has their own opinions about having tablets and laptops instead of books.