An increasing number of people now prefer to go shopping in supermarkets rather than small shops and local markets. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been noticed in recent times that people choose supermarkets over small shops and markets in the vicinity for shopping. I believe though shopping in supermarkets offers advantage in terms of time saving, the disadvantage of sharp decline in income of the local businesses cannot be overlooked. It consumes less time for shopping in the supermarkets than local shops and market. Everything, from clothes, grocery, home appliances, to cosmetics, can be obtained from the shopping malls. Wall Mart is good paradigm of this where all the utilities can be purchased under a single roof so buyers need not to roam here and there for buying various products. They can, substantially, spare their plenty of time to utilize it in other productive works. In contrast, in the small shops and markets in locality, users are bound to visit at different places for buying products for their day-to-day affairs. Inclination of locals towards supermarkets is undoubtedly affecting local vendors negatively. Business of the local shopkeepers has been fallen sharply which is further cause of complete lock down several shops. Hence, they become unemployed as well as suffering to make both ends meet. As per calculations by central government, in my hometown New Delhi current year sales of local grocery vendors decreased drastically by 50% and a number of local shops has been closed. On the other hand, Big bazaar, Reliance fresh, Wall mart, just to name a few well known shopping malls in the city accounted remarkable rise in their sales. Thus, it is apparent how supermarkets are affecting adversely to the local shops. In conclusion, despite the benefit of less time consumption on shopping when it is done in supermarkets, drawback of dramatic fall in revenue of local businesses is too dire to ignore.