A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortages and what could be done to alleviate the problems

There is no doubt that the lack of fresh water across the globe has already been a serious issue to be dealt with. It is definitely humans to blame; however, there can be done something crucial to prevent further negative consequences bringing about water shortage. First and foremost, predominance of developed mega cities in the share of potable water with rural areas is making the matters worse. In other words, dwellers in large cities are wasting water due to the overconsumption to do the cleaning, washing up and other domestic utilities. The best way forward is for the government to impose extortionate sums of taxation on the use of fresh water in urban areas. Another reason for water deficiency which we can’t just blink our eyes at is in part due to the baby boom after the world war two. Since then, the number of people worldwide has almost doubled, with the amount of requirement for drinkable water increasing significantly. This generates a struggle between countries to reach necessary water resources, which means that the days are not far when there might be a world war for water. To address this problem, a global agreement on a fair distribution of available water sources should be reached. Needless to say, there are very few problems that are big or unsolvable, all they require is the right step taken with the right spirit. For this, I think that the more effectively we use our water resources, the better life standards we will have in every corner of the world.