A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

It is argued that the wealth of a person is based on social status and material owned while traditional values of honour, generosity and trust become less important. I totally disagree with this statement as lots of people are valued by their behaviors which are related to the traditional values. A number of celebrities are famous and admired by fellow people because they behave positively and contribute to the society in various means. In other words, they are not judged solely due to how rich and how well-known they are. For instance, Li Ka Shing is a very rich entrepreneur in my city. Not only is he the richest man in Hong Kong, his kindness and generosity to share his possessions is the most impressed. He built a foundation for funding to education and health care services in order to improve people’s quality of life. Thus, social status and materialism are not the key factors to judge a person. Having traditional values is one of life’s necessities and people cherish it indeed. Although being responsible, kindness and honesty seem to be forgotten nowadays, they are in fact imprinted on our mind. For example, all of us have been educated to be honest, trustworthy and kind since childhood. In addition, students are required to reach a high standard of integrity and virtue. If you cheat in the exam, you will be heavily punished. Even after graduation, you have to demonstrate as reliable and dependable because employers are looking for candidates with these characteristics. Therefore, tradition values are of paramount importance to us. To conclude, people should not judge a person upon the social status and luxury items they possess. Instead, I believe an individual’s worth is attributed to the core values such as honour and kindness to shape an individual’s personality.