Whether or not a person achieves their aims in life is mostly related to luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that luck plays the most instrumental role in helping them achieve their goals in life. Personally, I vehemently disagree with this notion as hard work, determination and perseverance are more important factors than luck for attaining different goals. There are multifarious reasons to strengthen my viewpoint. Firstly, there are several people who despite all odds reach the pinnacle of success through sheer dedication and hard work. For instance, late APJ Abdul Kalam faced so much hardship in his childhood; however, he conquered all formidable challenges through untiring perseverance and grit. Needless to say, he achieved whatever he aimed at during his presidential tenure and in his scientific career. Secondly, anything which is achieved just through luck does not last long unless achievers put in diligent efforts to sustain it. To illustrate, people open businesses for their children; nevertheless, their businesses only grow if these children devote time and show dedication towards their work. For example, people may come into a lot of money due to sheer luck; however, if they do not know how to invest that money, they will soon squander it. Lastly, there are people who are born with physical disabilities but still they have a success story to tell. Take, for instance, Helen Keller who was deaf and blind, but with her determination and unparalleled efforts she became an eminent author and political activist. Although she was not born with fortunes, she fought against all odds and became an epitome of hard work and determination. To conclude, I firmly reiterate that luck does not play a major role in achieving success and factors such as perseverance, commitment and dedication are more imperative in attaining goals.