We should accept who we are and what we are rather than longing to be something else.

Sometimes we imagine we should be something other than what we are. We think that who we are is not enough or wrong, and this is a severe thought as it may cause a long term pressure and resulting people to disappoint with themselves. Although people should accept who they are and what they are, I believe that the idea of longing to be something else is essential for people. There is little doubt that most people have been comparing themselves to others and cannot fully accept themselves for who they are. It is a negative notion that people cannot accept the reality; instead, they compare, judge, or altering about themselves. This can cause people to suffer long-term pressure and stress, and consequently, people would be disappointed about themselves. For example, parents often compare their children’s achievements for their own gratification. However, this often results in children suffering self-disapprove and believe that they can be better, and in the end, most of the children become to have a negative frame of mind. On the contrary, I believe that the notion of longing to be something else can become a motivation that drives people to accomplish their goal. When people are longing to be someone that is successful, they might work harder to full-fill the desire of becoming successful. For example, when people are longing to be a millionaire, they will work harder to earn more salaries. Therefore, I believe that although we should accept who we are and what we are, longing to be something else is essential for people to accomplish their goals. In conclusion, there are a great number of people that cannot accept who they are, and this often causes them to suffer self-disapprove, resulting in them to disappoint about themselves. Although it is crucial for people to accept who they are and what they are, longing to be something else may be a great notion as it may become a motivation for people to accomplish their goals.