Traffic congestion and pollution from private cars are becoming huge problems for many major cities Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the negative environmental impact of the increasing number of cars

There is no doubt that nowadays not only is the congestion on the increase but also pollution caused by the use of private cars is becoming serious problems for big cities. Although these global issues will undoubtedly cause the negative impact on the environment, measures could be taken to tackle the problems. One of the main causes of traffic jams is that more and more people, especially those who live in big cities, are preferring to use their own cars instead of public transportation so that the increasing number of cars is inevitable. There are two actions that governments and societies could take to solve the problems. Firstly, governments should provide people with cheap and comfortable public transportation which can be accessed easily by the majority of people. A second measure would be for societies no to use private cars and to utilize bikes or other public facilities. There are several solutions for the massive use of private cars accounting for a detrimental effect on the environment that governments could implement. Firstly, a simple solution would be to promote electric cars for people always travelling by car and electricity is the main power of this kind of car so that this is environmentally friendly. A good example for this is Malaysia, which now the pollution is decreasing after eco cars or electric cars are launched by the government. Another solution is to give information about the impact of car emissions on the environment to public. Finally, national budgets could be allocated for research on pollution since this research will require a great deal of money. For instance, scientists in Indonesia are able to change polluters to be energy which can be used for lighting houses. In conclusion, the problem of traffic congestion can be tackled by improving public transportation and societies should use bikes. The government has to work on these environmental issues by introducing electric cars and doing some research on pollution.