The number of older people is increasing. Some people think it will cause problem to their countries, others believe this group is important to the society.

Some people argue that many countries might have problems with increasing number of elderly people, while others opine that elders have a major role in the society. This essay would argue that even though increasing number of older people causes strain on the pension and health care system, they have a very important role in guiding the society. Many would argue that increasing number of elderly people can affect the pension and health care system in a negative way, as they are not working; government needs to support them for their daily needs and health. This causes the state to spend large amounts of money on elderly people. A survey conducted by Victoria University in 2018 found that the longevity of elder people in Australia has increased and they constitute about 30% of the population. This would cost a lot to the state. On the other hand, this essay argues that despite the strain the elderly population puts on the government, elders have a major role in shaping the society. Elder people have ample experience and can guide youngsters during crucial situations / a crucial situation. In professions like teaching and medicine an experienced hand can always give better suggestions than a youngster with few years of experience. So older people can contribute to the society and help in shaping it. For instance, during the time of emergency surgery, doctors always consult with seniors who have better experience and who can suggest the best surgical plan. Hence, even though elders are unemployed they can act as a guide or an expert to resolve problems and shape the society. To conclude, it is argued that longevity of elder people cause issues to the state, but I believe that the elderly are an important part of the society especially during crucial times for guiding youngsters with their experience.