Some people think that universities should assign students to share dormitory rooms. Others think that students should be able to choose their roommates on their own.

For university students, some people insist that the university should set their dormitory rooms and roommates while other groups say that it is better to give students a choice when they are planning to stay in school. However, there are more reasonable supporting details which support second views. On the other hand, to be assigned room conditions and roommates from university has a benefit that students can learn how to bring up problems and solve them with new random people. In real life, we cannot avoid facing new individuals and adapting to make a proper agreement among really different personalities, so it is very important to learn how to deal with problems occurring from apposed opinions through having an assigned roommate. For instance, one survey in Korea proves that students who have experience living with new roommate feel more mature after graduate. Despite all the reasons, it is evident that most students in university want and need to choose their living mates, because schools cannot guarantee the compatibility of roommates. Certain types of people might feel difficult to share rooms because of totally different lifestyles, and even though they try hard to accept living together, sometimes it cannot be matched even a little. For example, if one student is a vegetarian, it causes embarrassing situations with other people, or when all room members are too lazy and dirty, it might affect to the condition of the room. All things considered, to prevent the worst unpredictable troubles, it is better for students choosing roommates during school life in spite of the advantages to learn adapting to new living conditions with different people when they are assigned roommates.