Some People Think That Parents Should Teach Children To Be Good Members Of The Society. Others, however, believe school is the place to learn this.

The education of children involves not only imparting knowledge, but also becoming good citizens. As is known, schools play the main role in improving children's academic performance. It is who takes responsibility of moral teaching that gives rise to many controversies. As far as I'm concerned, both parents and schools are indispensable in this issue. First of all, parents are children's first teachers. Before entering schools, children spend most of their time with their parents. Their verbal and physical interaction with parents shape their personalities all the time, because parents are their role models which they tend to imitate. This is especially effective for children at such a young age when their characteristics are formed. For example, if they see family members treat each other with respect and politeness, they are more likely to carry on this behaviour even outside the family. Because they would be instilled with the idea that showing respect and politeness to others is the right thing to do. In addition to pre-school parenting, schools tend to play an equally crucial role in cultivating children's morality. Schools are like a microcosm of society where children get to interact with people outside their family and learn how to be good members. Sometimes, it is easy to behave well in front of parents, but when it comes to non-related people, one may not behave the same way. Also, apart from intellectual education, teachers should educate children on morality, such as obeying rules and orders. Because the aim of school learning lies in not only helping students get good grades, but also preparing them to be qualified society members. In conclusion, teaching children to be good members of society requires complementary roles of parents and school.