Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Over the years, countries bid for hosting rights to host sports events like the World Cup, Olympics and other international sports festivals. Some people think that this is advantageous while others argue otherwise, with both sides having strong logics. Both views will be discussed in this essay and a reasoned conclusion will be reached. Firstly, hosting an international sports festival fosters harmony and international relations among participating countries. Secondly, it brings the host country to limelight, that is, international recognition, as events of each day will be publicized via various media outlets such as televisions, radios, newspapers, social media apps like Twitter, Facebook, Whatsapp, etc. For example, in the last World Cup held at Russia in 2016, a lot of publicity about the events was put out through the various channels. Also, the local sellers would experience a sudden rise in their sales as tourists and sports lovers will flux into the country. It also gives the locals the privilege and fun of meeting their football stars. However, it is argued that so much funds is put into the planning of the event, such as security, because the host country will post security around and any form of security threat will be handled during the slated period for the event. In countries where terrorists operate like Nigeria, , there could be an upsurge in bombings and kidnappings putting lives in danger. In the last World Cup for instance, there was a high record of robberies. Some people also argue that the money put into the planning can be used for the poor in third-world countries. In conclusion, I totally believe that hosting a global sports event is very good for the host country and even participating countries as it fosters peace and unity amongst them. It also grants international recognition and increases local sales. Although funding and planning can be tedious with threats to lives and properties, this can be handled by educating people on the importance of such and event and putting security measures in place.