Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

People have different views on the subjects that university students should be allowed to study. Some people advocate that students should study the science of food and how do prepare it while others are of the opinion that students should spend time on other important subjects. This essay intends to discuss both views and give personal opinion. On the one hand, assuming government funding is available, this would be an ideal method of combining a practical skill with scientific theory. One of the most common complaints among students after graduation is that the vast majority of their studies were impractical and did not prepare them for adulthood. Learning to cook on its own would go a long way towards answering this criticism. However, the true gains would come from the linking of theory and practice. Many scientific theories are abstract and difficult to both understand and retain later in life. The practical application in cooking would not only help students grasp the concepts initially but repeated review from making meals in one’s daily life would likely ensure permanent understanding. On the other hand, apart from food science, a wide range of natural science, social science and language subjects pave the way for students to acquire comprehensive skills and preparation. As a matter of fact, school curriculum has been modified and designed cautiously by experts in order to reach the ultimate educational efficiency, repudiating the whole suspection of its ability. Furthermore, the modern world imposes stricter qualities for a global citizen, which means one getting access to several areas may take advantages over others. Moreover, in the case of his indifference to food science, he can earn his stable income thanks to other streams of study rather than food science programme. In conclusion, although food science is undoubtedly significant at school, time management should be kept in order to balance with other subjects, as a person of success must be prepared for manifold real-life cases and challenges from all areas, not only food science.