Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people claim that boosting the number of sports facilities is the most effective way to improve the public health, while others think it is not, and another measure should be taken. This essay will argue that although the convenient accessibility to sports clubs encourages citizens to work on their health, the government should incentivise the public to improve their health. A great number of sports facilities makes it easy for the public to commute to one regularly. Although people feel lazy to go to a facility in a long distance, they are more likely to go there in a short distance, and therefore they would try to get fit. Furthermore, once they make doing exercise a part of their routines, it will be easy for them to retain the habit without being affected by their daily mood changes. For example, a survey in Japan found that there is a correlation between the convenient accessibility to sports centres and subjects who succeeded in losing weight. However, I believe there must be people who do not go sports centres regardless of distance. Instead of building sports clubs, the government should bribe men and women with money to improve their health. Since humans tend to be lazy, we are unwilling to start to get fit unless we receive incentives. One way is by distributing $100 to people who could lose more than 5 kg a month. For instance, my dad could quit smoking when I offered him $500. For this reason, I believe the public are inclined to try to improve their health with money. In conclusion, although building several sports facilities influences people to go to one by making those facilities accessible, I believe manipulating people with incentives offered by the government is more effective to improve the public health.