Some people feel that entertainers (e. g. film stars, pop musicians or sports stars) are paid too much money.

In today’s era, celebrities get handsome remuneration for their work. It is argued that famous personalities get higher packages compared to others working for the same hours. This essay agrees with the argument that the celebrities are indeed getting higher pays and will outline the reason why stars are getting a big pay check. There are several reasons to support my view. Firstly, stars need money to handle their stardom. They need to hire private bodyguards and other safety equipment. It is not possible for them to go out in public as people rush to catch a glimpse of their favourite celebrity. Secondly, bigwigs sacrifice a lot as they often travel abroad for their work commitments and rarely get time to spend with their family. A good example of this is Indian cricket team players who spend 7-8 months playing in other countries. As a result, they are compensated by giving them higher wages. Moreover, the working life of these stars is not much. They usually retire at the age of 35-36. The bigwigs need money to spend past their retirement as they often do not get work in other fields. To secure their future, they demand fat pay checks. A good example of this is soccer players whose average career last only for a few years. Needless to say, they require money to live a comfortable lifestyle post-retirement. To conclude, after analysing the various aspects of the argument, it is not hard to see that famous personalities need bigger salaries.