Some people believe that it is fairer to assess a student’s ability based on their performance during the whole course rather than giving a formal examination at the end of the course.

n these advanced days, pupil's ability assessment is a tougher nut to crack. Examiners need to go the extra mile to select the right mode of assessment. Though some people prefer periodical assessment method for evaluation, my two cent is that a formal examination is an excellent tool for better assessment. One of the obvious reasons, it is a clear and objective method of assessment. In other words, formal examination method has widely accepted for it judicial and nonbiased nature. Moreover, it facilitates a proper assessment of students with accurate evidence. Over and above, it breaches the barriers of technical criteria of assessments such as grading. Hence, this method brings about less parental complaints about student assessments. The recent parental survey in Japan proves that the most accepted methods of parents is nothing other than formal examinations, is the best epitome. Another reason, the exam pressure helps the students to get on with their future hectic career. It is a gospel truth that the formal examination normally creates a good deal of internal pressure among students. This pressure equips the students to put in a stressful situation in their future career. If the students practice this kind of situations in their early life, it will pay the dividend in future. On top of that, this practice brings about a sea change in students personal life as well. They take an effective decision as easy as pie in stressful situations in their personal life. Many business executives reveal that their success formula of personal and professional life is nothing other than the ability to work under pressure situations, that achieved by their school life is the best example. Ironically, an army of people argues that an extra workload comes about on students at the exam time. Perhaps it may be true to some degree but, there is always a light at the end of the tunnel. The pupil will be beneficial in future by these slightly vigorous practices in their school period. Put it in a nutshell, the formal examination is prejudice free and not a rocket science for students and their parents. In addition to that, if they go by formal exam process in their school hood, the students become an extra talented in future. If we separate these kinds of valuable techniques in other fields of life, we can see the magic touch of individual in many areas of life.