Serving Suggestions of Consuming Sodium in a Day

The human body can't live without some sodium. It's needed to transmit nerve impulses, contract and relax muscle fibers (including those in the heart and blood vessels), and maintain a proper fluid balance. Most of the sodium in the body (about 85%) is found in blood and lymph fluid. Most of the sodium we eat comes from packaged, processed, or prepared foods. Some items contain staggering amounts of it. When you get more sodium than you need, the kidneys flush out the excess by making more, or saltier, urine. If they can't get rid of enough sodium, though, it accumulates in the fluid between cells. Water inevitably follows sodium, and as the volume of this fluid increases, so does the volume of blood. This means more work for the heart and more pressure on blood vessels. Over time, this can stiffen blood vessels, leading to high blood pressure, heart attack, or stroke. It can also lead to heart failure. There is also some evidence that salt can directly affect the heart, aorta, and kidneys without necessarily increasing blood pressure. For people with heart failure, salt can cause or increase swelling. Too much salt can lead to hospitalization for powerful intravenous drugs to remove excess fluid. People with heart failure are usually advised to keep their sodium intake under 2, 000 mg a day. People with kidney disease are usually instructed to do the same. When sodium is in short supply, a host of chemical and hormonal messages signal the kidneys and sweat glands to hold onto water and conserve sodium. Low blood sodium is common in older adults, especially those who are hospitalized or living in long-term care facilities. Signs and symptoms of hyponatremia can include altered personality, lethargy and confusion. Severe hyponatremia can cause seizures, coma and even death.