Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss

It is believed that criminals would be punished in the best way when they are kept in the prison. At first sight, this statement may be right, However, in my point of view, it depends on the length of the prison period: the longer the more bad effects it would have. Overall, prison is known as the first and foremost solution for each kind of crime from ancient times until now. Also, it is logical as a person who does something illegal not only should not be let to live among other people but also it is demanded from rules to establish punishments to make that person regret what has been done. Prison is a place that criminals do not have permission to use communication tools and their visit to their families becomes limited to once a week. Furthermore, they are held in a place that is not spacious and are obligated to do all things during the day even about the sleep and food. As a result, this condition makes them gloomy and depressed as they count down the days to meet their freedom time. Besides, when they are free, it might be less possible to repeat the illegal actions to prevent jail again. Based on what was mentioned, prison in a society may be needed throughout the eras, but long-term prison is what makes a situation worst. It means that consider a 30 years old person who did a crime, and he or she has to be kept in jail for 35 years, consequently when this person becomes free is 65. This individual is now completely confused about the changes in the community, technology, and life and would be definitely failed to establish a kind of career or a conventional life for itself. In some movies in this area, I have seen that they tend to even suicide after their freedom. So that, this life has been ruined and may that person become regret but when he or she does not have any opportunity to prove their goodwill, prison makes no sense. in conclusion, prison may be interpreted as an initial solution to punish criminals but not the best. It is needed to apply more constructive policies, by considering the age of criminals, like short-term prison and long-term obligation on helping poor and disabled people, or employing them in spacial factories, and so on.