Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

In recent times, pollution of water sources has become a significant issue ever faced by mankind. The following essay will discuss a primary causes of water contamination and suggest efficient solutions to address this problem. The main reason of water pollution is supposed to be a human activity. In fact, excessive industrialisation is proved to have a detrimental outcome on air and land either. Take the transportation of fossil fuels over seas via tanks as an example, there were a plethora boat crashes, which resulted in an exposure of oil or coal to seas and oceans. As result, it brought about mass extinction of marine plant and animal species and contributed to the disbalance of biodiversity and even more, destruction of eco-systems. Moreover, I think, anxiety of the public is responsible for the water issue as well, due to the fact that most of us are not aware of implications of water pollution and possibly do not want to deliberately neglect the effects of this natural disaster on earth. Nevertheless, there a several approaches to tackle this global problem. For the first thing, governments should take a responsibility for implementing more rigorous policy of transporting resources through oceans or prohibit water transportation totally. Secondly, ecological activists should be promoted and supplied with financial resources. In other words, investing eco-activists may do a great job to mitigate effects of water pollution, in light of the fact that they possess in-depth knowledge and skills and money would provide them with necessary instruments. Finally, propaganda through mass media can rise awareness of people about ecological issues and bring up new generation, which is predicted to care more about environment. In conclusion, although water contamination is a catastrophe brought about by humanity, I belive, the solutions mentioned in the essay would potentially help to resolve it.