People after retirement often require financial assistance. Should the government be responsible for this or should the individuals make provisions for themselves?

It is a known fact that retired individuals need some monetary support to maintain and sustain their lives. Some people are of the opinion that the financial responsibility should be the duty of the authority while others are of the view that the persons concerned should bear the burden. Personally, I think both the authority and the people involved should play their part and this essay will examine both viewpoints and give a plausible conclusion. To begin with, when employees are in active service, they should take the necessary steps to secure their future. Firstly, they have to ensure that they have an active pension fund which can be doing my putting some money anytime they get their salary. Employers also have a role to play by making contributions to employee pension accounts. For instance, if a person starts working at the age of 20 and retires at 60, they would have saved up enough money for retirement and would also be able to maintain their life without depending on others. Nevertheless, the government can also contribute to this cause by ensuring that older people get some benefits. First of all, the authorities can ensure that seniors get discounts on bus passes or transportation within the state and they can also ensure that medical checks are subsidized. For example, bus passes can be half price for people who have retired. Secondly, the authority can also ensure that the pension fund of the seniors is tax-free. To sum it up, employees need to ensure that they take the right steps in securing their future and make adequate plans, although the government has a significant role in ensuring retirees live comfortably.