• One way to reduce the problem of traffic congestion is by increasing the tax on private vehicles. Do you think this is a feasible solution?

It is argued that increasing the tax on private vehicles could help in minimizing the traffic. This needs to be dealt in a strategic way as it might lead to country’s downfall as well. Undermentioned are the points which further explains my opinion. Firstly, vehicle is a must for every one to commute from one place to another. However, increasing the tax could help the government to survive for a short period, but vehicle manufacturing industries might collapse as a result of this measure. Most of the countries have joint ventures contracts which benefits both local and foreign companies, but increase in vehicle tax could refrain foreign companies to renew their contracts with the local companies and this could be a major setback for the local companies and government as well. For example, most of Asian countries have huge taxes which discourages investors and studies have further proved that as well. On the other hand, government should come up with a strategy like limiting the taxes and this will encourage the investors to set up vehicle manufacturing unit and thus decreasing the unemployment ratio as well. Government should also construct more highways thus limiting the vehicle access to the cities. Number of countries have developed odd-even number plate strategy to limit the traffic congestion. For instance, owners having odd number plate vehicle are allowed to travel on every alternate day and vice-a-versa. In a nutshell, tax is required for the growth of the country. Revenue generated from the tax should be used for infrastructure works which could help in minimizing the vehicle movement within the city.