Nowadays there is a grater focus at all levels in education on science and business studies rather than the arts

The advances in technology are being keenly felt in modern art in fields like design, painting and film. Such a trend I think is beneficial for those studying and working in these areas, as well as the public. The main criticism levelled at the use of technology in the areas above is that it is de-skilling workers. With computer painting and design, including on tablets, students in the above areas are losing basics skills in producing objects by hand. Likewise, children are losing the ability even to hold implements like pens and brushes, to coordinate their actions, to plan and to think through the basic processes for producing something. The same applies to workers in these areas. This is a valid criticism, but the benefits derived from the increasing use of technology in the areas above are huge. Computer software, such as 3D printing, supplements the skills of the students and workers in design, paint and films. The technology does not replace people, but is an additional tool like any other. Another reason why the effect technology is having on the fields above should be seen in a positive light is that these areas have through the ages adapted to the available technology to improve their work for the benefit of society. The latest technology now allows efficient car design and mechanics