Measures to control spread of cane toad in Australia.

Reading and Writing are about different measures to control spread of cane toad in Australia. More specifically, in regard to passages, the author is of the opinion that these measures will play a vital role, and supports his position by providing three arguments. The speaker is quick to point out that there are some serious flaws in the arguments made in reading text as these measures will be ineffective, and address, in detail trouble linked with each of them. First of all, author mentions that building a national fence will prevent spreading of cane toads to other areas which they have still not explored. Further, he adds that same technique was used earlier to control spread of rabbits. Nevertheless, the speaker contends this argument by revealing that building a national fence will not be able to stop young toads and eggs to reach different places as they are normally found in rivers and streams. Next, he explains that even a few of young toads and eggs are enough to colonize a new area. Secondly, the author claims that we can have volunteers capture and kill the population of cane toads. Yet, the speaker contradicts this claim by pointing out that volunteers used will be inexperienced and they can catch and kill other species of frogs which are natural habitat of Australia. He elaborates it further by stating that young ones of Australian native frog looks just same as cane toad young ones. Finally, the author wraps up his argument by positing that researchers are working on a virus which can help to control their population as it will prevent these frogs from maturing and reproducing. Not surprisingly, in contrast to author’s point, the speaker suggest that Australian reptiles are many times transported to other continents and if this virus reaches there with these reptiles and it can affect the cane toad in those central and southern America regions where they are the native species and can eliminate them. As a result, the whole eco-system will suffer in those areas. To sum up, the author and the speaker have conflicting views regarding measure to control spread of cane toads. It is clear that they will have trouble finding a common ground on this.