Use of buildings of Chaco Canyon in New Mexico

Reading and Writing are both about the use of buildings of Chaco Canyon in New Mexico. More specifically, in regard to passages, the author puts forth the idea that buildings are used for residential, storage, or ceremonial functions, and supports his position by providing three arguments. However, the speaker was quick enough to point out that there are some serious flaws with the points made by author, and address, in detail, the trouble with each point in the reading text. To begin with, the author mentions that buildings are used for residential purposes with home for hundreds of people. Nevertheless, the speaker contradicts this argument by pointing out that if hundreds of people have lived in those buildings than there need to be fireplaces which were used for cooking. Additionally, he says that there were just ten fireplaces, which were few for people living in hundreds of rooms. Secondly, the author claims that these huge structures were used for storing food by explaining that maize which is a long-lasting crop can be stored easily in them. Yet, the speaker challenges the claim by revealing that there were no traces of spilled maize or remains of large containers used to store maize were found during excavations. Finally, the author wraps up his argument by positing that these building were used as ceremonial centers. Moreover, in the article, he states that there huge deposits of remains of large pots found during excavations which might be discarded pots after ceremonial functions. Not surprisingly, in contrast to author's argument, the speaker says that there were other building materials such as sand, stone part of those huge heaps. He further elaborates it by saying that these huge heaps were having materials left out after building was built, and pots might be trash from construction worker's left overs.