Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Individuals are likely to update personal data such as a home address, phone number, etc, to online platforms which are very convenient to use in present days. In my opinion, advancement in technology is a mandatory requirement and a positive feature however, myriad of negative impacts are also hiding in it; hackers can steal our personal information and they can manipulate it. On the one hand, digital media are easy and comfortable to manage our data and get help. Once a person gives all his information to online sites it will be automatically saved so he does not need to rewrite it in the future. In addition, banks in developed countries promotes every customer to use online banking systems so customers can alleviate visits to the bank, they can call customer service at any time for assistance. Hence, time can be saved. On the other hand, Digital media misusers are proliferating nowadays. Once they hack our personal data, they try to mislead us with different ideas. For Instance, in recent news published by CBC, one Canadian lost almost one hundred thousand dollars, he explained to the news that, someone from his bank called and requested to withdraw money from his current bank and deposit it to some other bank as spam call advised. This person believed the caller and lost his entire money. What hackers mainly do that, they collect phone numbers and name, call phone numbers, pretending like they are officials, and made the callers believe in hackers. Normally, it is happening to older people and immigrants who do not have any idea about spam calls. This can be avoided by public awareness by the government or by bank officials. Overall, it is a good idea to have an update on online websites, nevertheless, beware of spammers and spoofers.