‘Is it ethically acceptable for this couple to choose to implant a ‘deaf’ embryo? ’

In my, opinion I agree with the law which states that an embryo that is created through IVF shouldn’t be implanted if they are identified as having any gene, chromosomal or mitochondrial abnormality. Linking it to the above case study, embryos recognised as having hearing abnormality shouldn’t be implanted. Who decides what a "serious" physical or mental disability is? There are some things on which we could probably all agree. If the fetus won't be able to survive to birth, that would probably count as would a disability that would cause the baby a great deal of pain and then probable death within the first year of life. However, once we get into other sorts of issues, this decision may not be so easy for 100% of prospective parents and government officials to agree on. I do agree with some of the views and the opinions of the deaf parents that even deaf people have their culture and identity and I strongly agree upon the fact that the deaf are equal to the listeners. Although the argument that this promotes deaf people as being less valuable than hearing people is strong, I don't believe parents should have the right to choose to give a child a feature which could potentially set them back when there are other options available. By selecting the type of qualities, we want in the embryo we are supporting the idea of designer babies, except selecting babies with certain eye colour, we are selecting certain disability. One should always aim for the least harm possible. By applying this principle in the situation, the best course of action would be to, if possible, prevent the child from being deaf. This is because being deaf would cause a lot of inconvince to the child. But that doesn’t mean that the deaf are less valuable than those who are not. To conclude, this argument is a difficult one because on one hand I think, If I was deaf I would not want to be destroyed just because I was deaf. it could be said that this in itself is discrimination against deaf people. But then on the other hand, would one knowingly bringing a deaf person into this world be ethically right, to that I would answer no because it would put them at a disadvantage to other children. However, would deaf people argue that they aren't at a disadvantage, but then again would they know the true answer as they don't know what it's like to be fully hearing. If I was to have a solution to this, I would say that screening an embryo shouldn't happen, this erases the thought of choosing a baby and it’s just a situation of ' you get what you get'