Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

Recently, environmental issues have become more serious than before. Some would say that each person who lives in the world can contribute to these problems, but others disagree. This essay will explore both views. It is clear that everyone can take action to deal with environmental issues. Because lots of research found several ways for saving the global environment. A good example is recycling, which people already have done. In addition, avoiding plastic materials is beneficial, the reason why it generates toxic gases, so currently, people have started to use eco-bags for shopping, and wooden straws for drinking beverages. Thus, individuals are able to promote the environment with eco-friendly actions. It is also true that many ecological activities are organised by ordinary people or organizations who not relating to governments. For instance, one Japanese association has planted a huge amount of trees to reforest. Furthermore, in Okinawa, local citizens pick up garages and maintain corals to reserve the beautiful coral reef. Therefore, non-governmental organizations and even locals can develop and protect precious environments. On the other hand, it is undoubtful that governments have a massive impact on people's behavior. It means that they can regulate citizens what they want to. For example, they can legislate new laws to combat environmental issues. Also, they can launch public campaigns with national expenses to encourage locals to take action to contribute to these issues. Hence, governments are the most powerful organizations to do something to improve global environmental issues. In conclusion, individuals are able to contribute to environmental problems as well as governments, such as recycling, avoiding plastics, and planting trees. It is my brief that governments should assist each person's action financially. Perhaps, more and more people will have taken action to save the global environment.