In the past, people used to go to museums to learn facts about culture and history. Nowadays people can find all this freely on the Internet so the museums are no longer important.

Museums store the traditions and history of our ancestors. As a lot of information regarding this is already available online, some people believe that museums should not exist anymore. However, I entirely disagree with this notion because museums allow people to watch in person the belongings of famous people from the past and enable us to learn more about their lives. To begin with, museums opened the doors in the past because they contain in them the essential and special things such as coins, artefacts and manuscripts of our ancestors. By visiting, we can actually see the things used by them and store them in their mind. The items seen in person have a huge impact on a person than seeing mere digital images. Therefore, this can motivate a person to learn more about their ancestors. For instance, the National Museum of Bangladesh has the belongings of Mughal Emperors. So, one can vividly imagine how our elders spent their lives, what were their interests and much more. Only when we have museums, art galleries, exhibitions, or collection of historic objects and artworks, we can present them online. Without the existence of museums and galleries, an online collection of historic objects or works would never have existed. Second, museums and art galleries preserve the real objects while the online presentation has nothing to do with preserving those invaluable works and objects. Moreover, museums and galleries are maintained by a group of experts who knows which objects or works are historically important and decide to preserve them. On the contrary, websites and online resources are often run by ordinary people and maintaining online authenticity is not always possible. To conclude, even though the internet is an easily available and free way of getting important information about one's past and culture, it cannot replace the sentiments attached to visit the museums in person and it cannot allow one to physically handle things.