In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

While it is true, more and more people are increasingly adopting mobile payment methods for making a transaction, there are certain sections of society who still prefer the traditional method of transaction. In my view, there are many benefits to pay via a mobile phone, but there are some downsides which needed to be rectified before it can be trusted as a primary way of exchanging money. This essay will elucidate the disadvantages of transacting money through mobile wallet apps before reaching to a plausible conclusion. It is an irrefutable fact that technology has not only changed the way people live, but also changed the way they transact with each other. However, many individuals still trust the traditional way of exchanging money like through cash or cheques. These individuals either unaware of these ways of transacting, or they find the user-interface of mobile wallet apps difficult to use. Furthermore, low paying labour who receives their payments or salary through cash finds it arduous to adopt mobile wallet apps. To sum up, mobile payment system is still unpopular in the low-salaried and uneducated section of society. Another reason for the mobile payment apps not widely accepted is its dependence on the internet. Remote places where the internet connectivity is poor, people find it strenuous to transact through these apps. Moreover, security is also a big challenge to this method of money exchange. For an illustration, remarkable research conducted by the Internet Organisation of the USA reveals that more than 1 billion dollars have been stolen by hackers. Overall, there are some technical challenges with these mobile payment apps which have restricted the popularity of these apps among the general public. To recapitulate, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that the mobile payment app methods are the future way of transacting money, but it hasn't reached to its potential in terms of usability and accessibility.