Famous pop and sports stars earn millions of dollars. Many other entertainment and sports personalities also have very high incomes. On the other hand, most people in ordinary professions like nurses, doctors and teachers earn only a small fraction of the incomes of these stars. What do you think about stars receiving very high remunerations? Is it fair that people with jobs that directly help people are paid much less?

There is no doubt that celebrities earn in millions / billions. While they are paid in huge sums of money for gigs, real heroes behind the welfare of the people have meagre salaries. While I do believe that this is unfair, in my opinion, it is not practically possible to change this arrangement. First off, famous athletes and singers earn astronomical salaries because they possess unique talents. These people must be really brilliant at their craft to gain the popularity and success and this is not something they can achieve by taking a mere course. Hence, they deserve to earn more. Another argument in favour of their higher salaries is that a person’s income will always be proportional to the amount of money they can generate. Major events like Olympics generate billions of dollars in revenue and the success of these events depend entirely on the performance of the athletes. Obviously, they need to be paid more. Likewise, music concerts and movies depend on the popularity of a few stars and again generate lots of money. That is why these people are paid more. They make a lot of money; they generate a lot of employment and so they earn more. On the flip side, the people who work very hard for the welfare of the society does that much. While this is unfair, in my opinion, it is not practically possible to pay teachers or doctors the same salaries as footballers or pop singer. To start with, there are millions of doctors and engineers in the world; by contrast, there is only one Messi, or Steffi Graph or Kohli. Also, if you insist that doctors should earn millions, how many people will be able to afford healthcare? To pay them more hospitals have to charge more from patients. Use convincing ideas. These professionals should be paid adequately, but they cannot be paid in millions or billions for the simple reason that they do not generate that much money. Saving a life and teaching a child are noble activities but they do not generate revenue. In conclusion, celebrities earn more money because of their unique talents and their ability to generate money by virtue of those talent. The amount of money can a person can earn is and will always be proportional to the amount of income they can generate. Hence, doctors cannot be paid as much as athletes because the latter help generate a lot more revenue and jobs than the former.