Some people are concerned that children spend too much time on computers - playing games, chatting and watching videos. But all this time is actually good preparation for children, who will have to spend many hours working on computers throughout their education and their working lives.

It is nowadays more common than ever to see children spending a large amount of time a day playing on their computers. Some believe that this will prepare them for their future education and careers which will involve a lot of computer uses. However, I strongly disagree with that because of several reasons that I will discuss in this essay. Some may point out that starting using computers from young age, whether that is for socialising or entertainment, will benefit the children as in the future they will have to often work or study on computers. Once that time comes, children who have already started using computers long before will be able to use computers as a tool for their studying or working more efficiently and possibly at faster pace. That might be because those children are already familiar with the basic functions of computers and certain software. Yet, a significant number of those children tend to spend too much time on their computers that they may lack other aspects of development. Socialising can be an example of that. Although children may be able to connect to others through online platforms when they are using computers, that is unlikely to develop long lasting relationships which might benefit them when they are older. It is also possible that they will face some problems socialising in real life with their friends once they enter schools. That is why I believe small children should not spend a large amount of time on computers. Another reason against the idea that ‘it is positive for children to spend a lot of time on computers as a preparation for their education and working lives’ is that it is not too late to start learning how to use computers when they start studying or working. Generally, most computer programmes are designed to not be too complicated to use. Adults working these days who did not have computers to use in their childhood can be an example to show that it is definitely not a problem to start learning to use computers at later stages in life. To conclude, although spending a lot of time on computers from young age can benefit children in certain aspect, I believe it is much more worthwhile and better for the children to spend that time doing other things which will improve their development as a child.