Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is argued that all undergraduates in universities ought to major in their preferred areas, whereas others think that it is more beneficial for their future to study modern subjects such as science and technology. While allowing students to study their favorable subjects would encourage them to learn better, I believe that focusing on contemporary subjects qualifies them to labor market. On the one hand, it is perfectly reasonable to think that university students should study their favorite topics because this would fire enthusiasm to learn. If students choose whatever they like, this will encourage them to passionately delve into them, which would likely not only improve their practical skills, but also their theoretical ones. For example, same initiative in Japan has resulted in graduating knowledgeable and skillful members. However, it does not make any sense for me to turn a blind eye to the importance of modern topics in the AI-equipped era. On the other hand, studying physics and science is an idea to be appreciated as these would play a pivotal role when it comes finding a profession in the future. As technology progresses in a starling pace, learners have to acquire up-to-date information in order to keep themselves abreast of the up-to-minute technological advancements. Recent Canadian study revealed that given that these topics were paid a special attention in universities, this would contribute to improving graduates' personal qualifications, which is certainly essential in terms of meeting the requirements of modern labor market. I, therefore, believe that educational institutes have to involve students in contemporary topics, if they are heading to offer them better recruitment opportunities. In conclusion, even though allowing students to study their preferred topics would confer them on a better learning experience, I feel that keeping a vigilant eye on recent subjects is a good idea for graduates' careers.